During the recovery process you will see a ‘Show MBR’ option, select the MBR check box. Normally when recovering or Imaging the entire disk to another drive, the ‘Recover disk signature’ check box will also appear. The ‘Disk signature’ is a part of a hard disk MBR and uniquely identifies the disk.
Note: The ‘Recover disk signature’ check box may not appear if you are using Acronis from within the Windows operating system when restoring the image file to the larger SSD. If you need to keep the original disk signature for one or more of the reasons listed below then load Acronis from the “Rescue / Recovery Media” you created in the previous step and use the recovery media to restore the image to your new SSD.
Acronis recommends that you select the Recover disk signature check box due to the following reasons:
Acronis True Image 2014 creates scheduled backups using the signature of the source hard disk. If you recover the same disk signature, you don't need to re-create or edit the backups created previously.
Some installed applications use a disk signature for licensing and other purposes.
Acronis recommends that you clear the Recover disk signature check box when:
You use an image backup not for disaster recovery but for restoring the image of your disk drive (your smaller SSD) to another drive (your new and larger SSD), which is the case in this article.
In this case, Acronis True Image 2014 generates a new disk signature for the new SSD.
Warning: You cannot have two drives that have the same disk signature connected to your computer at the same time as Windows will not be able to boot. So if you elect to keep the same disk signature on your new SSD you must disconnect the old SSD after the Image restoration the new drive has completed but before you boot to Windows.
You can remove the disk signature from the smaller SSD by using the ‘Secure Erase’ option in Samsung’s Magician utility, some but not all SSD manufactures may have a ‘Secure Erase’ utility. Be advised the once the drive is erased it is in the ‘Raw’ state and all data is lost. So erase the drive only after you are certain you can boot to the new SSD and everything is functional.